Ward 19 Democratic Committee Endorses Candidates for Suffolk County Offices, Plans Next Forum

After the candidates’ forum on Wednesday, July 18, 2018 the committee met and voted the following endorsements. The primary election is on Tuesday, September 4.

For Register of Deeds: Katie Ford

For District Attorney: Rachael Rollins

The next forum will be in two weeks:




Ward 19 Neighbor Running for JP Neighborhood Council

Dear Friends and Neighbors-

I am asking for your vote as a District  C delegate on our JP Neighborhood Council on Saturday April 28th.  Election info below.

I seek re-election election to the Jamaica Plain Neigbhorhood Council to help bring about a more balanced and inclusive approach on issues affecting the future of this community.

An approach that recongnizes the rich diversity and social make-up of the Jamaica Plain community and works to provide and encourage an open forum for the expession of issues and views from all sections of our neighborhood.

 I am a life long activist and resident of JP.   I was a member of the JPNC from 1985 through 1997, during this time period, I served as the Chair of the Zoning Committee.  I have also served as chair of the Asticou-Martinwood-South Street Neigbhorhood Association for 25 years.  I was born and raised in Jamica Plain, married with 2 children, 4 grandchildren, a graduate of the University of Massachusetts in Boston and work as a procurement contracts negotiator. 

Thank-you very much!  Any questions please give me a call at either of the numbers below:
617-909-3460 celluar
617-524-2573 home

Your neighbor- Bernie Doherty

Vote this Saturday, April 28 between 10am and 5pm.  Voting tables are at Harvest Co-op Forest Hills and JP Licks and Stop and Shop.

Any resident 16 or older is eligible to vote.  You can vote for up to five candidates in your district and five At-Large candidates .  

Good map of districts in jamaicaplainnews.com

Announcing our Delegates to the 2018 State Convention

At its caucus on this past Saturday, February 3, 2018, nearly 90 registered Democrats in Ward 19 elected the following delegates to attend the State Democratic convention on June 1-2, 2018, at the DCU Center in Worcester. The Ward 19 Democratic Committee congratulates our delegates!

Thanks to all the members and volunteers who helped make the caucus run smoothly. Special thanks to Bill Shaevel and Nancy Doherty for planning and running the food table, and to Painters And Allied Trades DC 35 for the use of their hall in Roslindale.

Female delegates:

  • Arreen Andrew
  • Glenda Buell
  • Ziba Cranmer
  • Ruth George
  • Henia Handler
  • Nikki Kong
  • Makeeba McCreary
  • Alexandra Oliver-Davila
  • Jackeline Peguero
  • Christine Poff
  • Julia Ryan
  • Heidi Shork

Male delegates:

  • Erik Berg
  • Ed Burley
  • Jim Greene
  • Jesse Hechevarria
  • Rueben Kantor
  • Carmel Levy
  • Brendan Little
  • Will Poff-Webster
  • John Riordan
  • Ruben Rodrigues
  • Bill Shaevel
  • Phil Stubblefield

Alternate delegates were elected in three stages: 2 Female Alternate (FA), 2 Male Alternate (MA),and 1 Female/Male Alternate (FMA). The order below is significant; it is in order of total votes received and determines the order in which alternate delegates will  replace a delegate (or delegates) if needed:

  • John Young (MA)
  • Cathleen Prata (FA)
  • Kerry Costello (FA)
  • Chuck Collins (MA)
  • Helen Raizen (FMA)